Why I’m once again taking Brad DeLong off my reading list

When I first got into econ blogs, I put a couple of blogs in my RSS feed: Cafe Hayek, EconLog, Conscience of a Liberal and Brad DeLong’s blog. By now, my RSS feed is a scary monster which never gets down to 0 unread. Some time ago, I cut out Paul Krugman mostly because I don’t like having to click through to read the articles and Brad DeLong because I felt he was a jerk. I’ve never met him in person and he might be a very decent human being, but his writings painted a picture of a very unpleasant fellow whom I would avoid unless absolutely necessary.

More recently, however, Daniel Kuehn’s links to DeLong compelled me to put DeLong back in my RSS feed. I even went and tried to comment. However, it appears that posting a list of cases where SCOTUS was neither “hippy-punching” nor furthering the Republican agenda was against his commenting policy. (I suppose evidence against what he says is “misleading information.”) I figured that as an adult, I can just ignore his comment section and his generally obnoxious tone and focus on the interesting information he passes along.

Just today, I found such a gem. A link to a very interesting Reuters article on a case against Standard & Poor for their role in rating complex securities. I highly recommend reading the article in question. It is very good and as I was reading it, I found myself very interested by what was being said. But simultaneously, I also found myself highly skeptical. Much more so than I could intellectually justify. It didn’t take long for me to realize that the problem was where I had found the article. De Long fills his blog with so much contemptuous bile that I’ve come to instinctually assume that if he posted it, it must be highly biased and without much redeeming value. So I’m again dumping him. Hopefully, Daniel Kuehn, David Glasner, Nick Rowe, etc will link to him when he has something interesting to say and I can find it that way, but I find his writing to be actively harmful to intellectual exploration. I suggest you also drop him from your reading list.

UPDATE: Brad DeLong came into the comments to challenge my characterization of his blog. I must make amend for having hyperbolized my characterization of his blog. It is unfair to say that he “fills his blog with […] contemptuous bile”. However, I find that he does pepper just enough of it (see examples in the comments) in addition to his general style that I for one have a hard time reading his stuff without assuming it must be, as I said above, highly biased. Maybe the failing is mine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I’m once again taking Brad DeLong off my reading list

  1. Brad DeLong says:

    Hmmm… Perhaps you could point to some examples of what you are talking about on the front page of my weblog right now?

Comments are closed.